STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Champions Trophy 2019

Matt Cogar takes the Trophy Ring to the U.S.A.

Matt Cogar takes the Trophy Ring to the U.S.A.

Matt Cogar of the USA has today won the 2019 STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Champions Trophy for the first time, defeating the seemingly unstoppable Laurence O'Toole in the final in front of more than 1,400 people at Tjolƶholm Castle in Sweden.

Cogar put on an impressive performance throughout the competition, knocking out New Zealand's Jesse Whitehead in his heat, to set up a semi-final with the 2018 champion, Canadian Stirling Hart. In a highly-anticipated contest, Cogar posted a stunning time of 1:00:91 to shock Hart and progress to the final, where he would face 2018 Individual World Champion, Laurence O'Toole.

With nothing between the two athletes, Cogar kept his cool under pressure from the Australian, to complete the four disciplines of Stock Saw, Underhand Chop, Single Buck and Standing Block Chop just under two seconds faster.

On a thrilling evening when the world's top 12 woodchopping and sawing athletes came together to challenge for the title, 2018 champion Stirling Hart was awarded third place after his small final opponent, Poland's Michal Dubicki, was forced to withdraw due to a pulled muscle picked up in his semi-final defeat to O'Toole.

2019 STIHL TIMBERSPORTS® Champions Trophy winner, Matt Cogar, commented: "I cannot get over the feeling, it's unreal. I came here to put forward the best cut I could so to get gold is a dream. The ring is a little tight but it feels amazing. It's a special trophy.

"I knew the final against Laurence was going to be pretty tough but I tried to put that to one side and focused on just me and the log.

"Thank you Sweden, for hosting, I cannot wait to come back because it's an amazing place."

Silver medallist Laurence O'Toole said: "I'm still pretty happy with how I performed. I went as quick as I could and couldn't quite get over the line at the end, Matt was too strong. Hopefully one day I'll have the opportunity to come back and win this trophy."

2018 winner Stirling Hart, who finished in third, added: "Any time you win a medal you're happy. It's a little bittersweet because you never want to win a medal in this situation. Dubicki and I both wish we could've given the crowd a race for the bronze medal as it would have been an awesome race.

"Sweden has been an amazing host for this year's Champions Trophy, we cannot wait to come back again in the future. What more can you ask for, I'm leaving with a medal and you can't hope for more than that."

Also in action were Robert Ebner (Germany), Ferry Svan (Sweden), Armin Kugler (Austria), Martin Kalina (Czech Republic), Elgan Pugh (Great Britain), Martin Komarek (Czech Republic) and Andrea Rossi.

Find all results here.